Qualcomm Uplinq
Moment Factory
Shows
Interactive
Type 
Interactive installation
Multimedia Director
Thibaut Duverneix
Producer
Moment Factory
Music Composer
Vincent Letellier

Qualcomm commissioned Moment Factory who hired Thibaut Duverneix to direct the opening show for Uplinq 2013, an annual event focused on new mobile technology in San Diego, California dedicated to creativity, it was clear we needed to deliver an opener for Uplinq that would showcase mobile technology as a keystone in the creation and development of digital culture.

For this event, we worked with Vincent Letellier of Freeworm, who composed and directed the music, and VJ Jennifer Daoust a.k.a. Video Girl. Two performers, standing on opposite sides of a DJ table evoking a battle, used tablets and smartphones to live mix music and video. The mixed video was projected as a backdrop behind the performers, creating a live-rendered and immersive multi-sensory DJ set. As the performers volleyed control back and forth, the audience followed, cheering as the throwdown escalated.

In its simplest form, the challenge presented by Qualcomm was to create a live demonstration of how emerging digital cultures can re-imagine mobile technologies in the creation of new experiences. Both surprising and inspiring audiences, the goal of the opening show was to use mobile technology to create an immersive and compelling performance. As this challenge reflects our spirit at its core, we hoped to offer an opening show that was alive, playful, and most of all technologically innovative. Our show set the stage for a battle between graphics and sound, a unique experience that delivered Qualcomm’s corporate message with a fresh approach.

Qualcomm Uplinq
Moment Factory
Shows
Interactive
Type 
Interactive installation
Multimedia Director
Thibaut Duverneix
Producer
Moment Factory
Music Composer
Vincent Letellier

Qualcomm a fait appel à Moment Factory qui a engagé Thibaut Duverneix afin de concevoir le spectacle d’ouverture d’Uplinq 2013, un événement annuel dédié aux nouvelles technologies mobiles et à la créativité à San Diego, en Californie. Il était évident que nous devions créer un spectacle d’ouverture pour Uplinq qui ferait la démonstration que la technologie mobile est un vecteur dans la création et le développement de la culture numérique.

Pour cet événement, nous avons travaillé avec Vincent Letellier de Freeworm, qui a composé et dirigé la musique, et la VJ Jennifer Daoust, connue sous le nom de Video Girl. Deux artistes, se tenant sur les côtés opposés d’une table de DJ, évoquant une bataille, utilisaient des tablettes et des téléphones intelligents pour mixer de la musique et des images vidéo. La vidéo mixée était projetée en toile de fond, derrière les artistes, créant une performance de DJ multisensorielle immersive en direct. Alors que les artistes s’échangeaient le contrôle, le public participait, en lançant des encouragements à mesure que la performance montait en intensité.  

Sous sa forme la plus simple, le défi présenté par Qualcomm consistait à montrer en direct à quel point les cultures numériques émergentes peuvent réinventer les technologies mobiles dans la création de nouvelles expériences. Tout en surprenant et en inspirant le public, l’objectif du spectacle d’ouverture était d’utiliser la technologie mobile pour créer une performance immersive et captivante. Ce défi représentait véritablement notre esprit, et nous espérions offrir un spectacle d’ouverture vivant, ludique et, surtout, technologiquement innovateur. Notre spectacle a mis la table pour une bataille entre le visuel et le son, une expérience unique qui transmettait le message d’entreprise de Qualcomm avec une nouvelle approche.