Light Nightclub
Cirque Du Soleil - Moment Factory
Installations
Type 
Live Show
Director
Thibaut Duvernix
Producer
Moment Factory
Client
Cirque Du Soleil

In 2013, Cirque du Soleil made a bold entry to the nightclub circuit with LIGHT at the Mandalay Bay Hotel in Las Vegas. LIGHT would feature world-famous DJ’s in an immersive mind-bending universe populated by more than twenty acrobats, dancers, and unique characters.

Wanting to create a club experience unlike anything that’s come before, Cirque brought Moment Factory on board to design and produce video content for the more than 10 million pixels installed floor to ceiling and beyond. The expectation was that visiting DJ’s could customize a visual tone to match the vibe of their set, so our team’s main challenge was how to illustrate music with intensity so that the video content appeared cohesive with the music.

Moment Factory hired Thibaut Duverneix to create and direct 2 scenes of 10 minutes. “Smoking Women” and “Glass Prison”.

No matter where they are in the club, patrons are fully immersed in a spectacular display of performance, lighting, sound, and projection design, all carefully crafted toward a live and custom experience. To achieve this, the Moment Factory team created and continues to add to a vast repertoire of visual ambiences that can be layered in infinite combinations to move with and enhance the music. We also developed custom graphic environments for Skrillex, Axwell, Nicky Romero, Ingrosso, Alesso, and Zedd. We contributed to the club’s overall multimedia design with a DJ booth under a mosaic of LED screens and two large interactive projection walls. Known as ‘Acrowalls,’ acrobats perform live between layers of projection screens where they interact with visual content. The screens also sense both the movement and body heat of the performers, blending performance with content to create a sublime mirage.

Light Nightclub
Cirque Du Soleil - Moment Factory
Installations
Type 
Live Show
Director
Thibaut Duvernix
Producer
Moment Factory
Client
Cirque Du Soleil

En 2013, le Cirque du Soleil a fait une entrée remarquée dans le monde des boîtes de nuit avec LIGHT à l’hôtel Mandalay Bay à Las Vegas. LIGHT mettait en vedette un DJ renommé mondialement dans un univers immersif époustouflant habité par plus de vingt acrobates, danseurs et personnages uniques.

Dans le but de créer une expérience de boîte de nuit totalement nouvelle, le Cirque a fait appel à Moment Factory pour concevoir et produire le contenu vidéo comptant plus de 10 millions de pixels installés du plancher au plafond et au-delà. Il fallait que les DJ invités puissent personnaliser l’aspect visuel pour qu’il s’adapte à leur performance, donc le principal défi de notre équipe consistait à illustrer la musique avec intensité, de façon à ce que le contenu vidéo soit cohérent avec la musique.

Moment Factory a engagé Thibaut Duverneix pour créer et diriger deux scènes de dix minutes, « Smoking Women » et « Glass Prison ».

Peu importe où ils se trouvent dans la boîte de nuit, les clients sont entièrement immergés dans une manifestation spectaculaire mêlant performance, son et projections, le tout soigneusement conçu pour mettre en place une expérience personnalisée en direct. Pour y parvenir, l’équipe de Moment Factory a créé un vaste répertoire d’ambiances visuelles pouvant être combinées à l’infini de manière à bouger avec la musique et à la rehausser; et l’équipe continue toujours à faire des ajouts à ce répertoire. Nous avons aussi développé des environnements graphiques personnalisés pour Skrillex, Axwell, Nicky Romero, Ingrosso, Alesso et Zedd. Nous avons contribué au design multimédia de l’endroit en y installant un espace de DJ sous une mosaïque d’écrans DEL et deux immenses murs de projections interactifs. Appelés « Acrowalls », des acrobates effectuent des performances en direct entre des écrans de projections où ils interagissent avec le contenu visuel. Les écrans captent aussi les mouvements et la chaleur des artistes, ajoutant du contenu à la performance, afin de créer un mirage sublime.