Les Lointaines
Quartier des Spectacles
Shows
Installations
Type 
Installation
Client
Quartier des Spectacles
Creative Directors
Thibaut Duverneix - Mathieu Léger
Multimedia Director
Amélie Petit Jean
Motion Designers
Simon Janelle - Josselin Bey
Art Director
Geoffrey Skrajewski
Graphic Designer
Louis Robert
Making-Of
Alex Carignan
Making-Of Editor
Zacharie Chapuy

Les Lointaines is a graphic interpretation of an expedition into the unknown. This intricate and exciting architectural video of 2 to 3 minutes in length takes place during the Luminothérapie event produce by the Partenariat du Quartier des Spectacles organisation. 

Drawing upon society’s fascination with travel and the cosmos, Gentilhomme invites the public to embark on an extraordinary, dream-like space exploration. “Les Lointaines is an ode to curiosity and adventure, which celebrates the idea of a personal journey with poetry and melancholy,” underlines Thibaut Duverneix, designer and director at Gentilhomme. The projection will run in a continuous loop on the façade of the Pavilion Président-Kennedy UQAM starting at sunset from November 30, 2017 until January 28, 2018.

The multidisciplinary creative studio makes optimal use of projection technology and a unique mix of photo-montage, video, 3D renderings and vector animation with a particular focus on developing dynamic and grandiose images in bright, shimmering colours to create surrealistic and vivid scenery. Not only will the building’s façade serve as a backdrop to the videoprojection, it will also transform into a space shuttle, inside and out, whose structure is demarcated by the architectural lines of the Pavillion Président-Kennedy UQAM.

Les Lointaines
Quartier des Spectacles
Shows
Installations
Type 
Installation
Client
Quartier des Spectacles
Creative Directors
Thibaut Duverneix - Mathieu Léger
Multimedia Director
Amélie Petit Jean
Motion Designers
Simon Janelle - Josselin Bey
Art Director
Geoffrey Skrajewski
Graphic Designer
Louis Robert
Making-Of
Alex Carignan
Making-Of Editor
Zacharie Chapuy

La projection architecturale Les Lointaines est une interprétation graphique d’un voyage vers l’inconnu. L’oeuvre haute en couleur d’une durée de 2 à 3 minutes est projeté en même temps que Luminothérapie produit par le Partenariat du Quartier des spectacles. 

Puisant cette fois dans la fascination pour le voyage et le cosmos, Gentilhomme propose au public d’embarquer dans une exploration spatiale extraordinaire. « Les Lointaines est une ode à la curiosité et l’aventure, célébrant avec poésie et mélancolie l’idée de quête personnelle » souligne Thibaut Duverneix, concepteur et réalisateur chez Gentilhomme. La projection est di usée en boucle sur le Pavillon Président-Kennedy de l’UQAM à partir du coucher du soleil, et ce, du 30 novembre 2017 au 28 janvier 2018. 

Pour exploiter parfaitement la technologie de projection et pour créer des ambiances surréalistes et éclatantes, le studio créatif multidisciplinaire utilise un mélange unique de photo-montage, vidéo, rendu 3D et animation vectorielle, en mettant un point d’honneur à concevoir des images aux couleurs chatoyantes, dynamiques et grandioses. La surface du bâtiment sera la toile de fond de la vidéoprojection, mais aussi transformée en intérieur ou extérieur de navette spatiale dont la structure sera signée grâce aux lignes architecturales du Pavillon Président-Kennedy de l’UQAM.